Wasting sunlight

Walking through an industrial type building like the Royal College during the day I was astounded at how many massive lights were on even though it was sunny outside.

Imagine if that sunlight that is being wasted on hitting external walls could be utilised inside. This design is in no way a replacement for internal lighting. Just an added bonus of being able to use this light that is already available, no electricity and sunlight – which as we all know, our bodies enjoy a lot more than florescent strip lighting.

I am going to bring more sunlight into buildings using optic fibre.

I’m not sure if I want to embark on an industrial size environment for this 4 week project, but it’s good that I have an option of where this project could lead, because it’s that kind of scale when things start to make a difference.

 

Leave a comment